While I’m Waiting

photo

John Ronald Reuel Tolkien CBE FRSL

While I wait to hear back from Derek Haines and Nicholas Rossis regarding their thoughts about the first fifteen thousand words of my current science fiction work in progress, I now have the time to read one of my copies of The Hobbit – the latest Kindle incarnation.

All my life I have loved Tolkien’s books. Once upon a time when I was a good deal younger, (seven going on eight) my father used to read to me from The Hobbit every night before I had to go to bed. I wish I had that copy. It was a first edition. Unfortunately like a lot of the precious books he had at the time, it was sold for a few pounds when we left England for New Zealand back in 1958.

Beside the Kindle copy, I also have the exquisitely illustrated hard back versions of The Hobbit and The Lord of The Rings. I have never opened either of them. The very thought of breaking their spines to read from them has never entered my mind. They are precious works of art and literature to my way of thinking, to be owned and never read.

Beside The Hobbit and The Lord of The Rings, I also have the following Tolkien books:

The Silmarillion – a tough read

Unfinished Tales – compiled from Tolkien’s notes by his son

The Children of Hurin – edited and published by Tolkien’s son

So, to take my mind of things I’ll be spending a lot of time in Middle Earth for the next week or two.

Ah, my life is tough – not…

πŸ˜€

2 thoughts on “While I’m Waiting

  1. We do fall in love … even with our physical books Jack. I love this post. I too have my favourite books. I don’t read them … I fall into them. Great post my friend! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

