The self publishing world is not the place for dreamers

hard-work13

Like all things, writing demands dedication on the part of the author, and above all else – the patience of Jobe. If your book hasn’t caught the public’s imagination just yet. Don’t worry. Someone, somewhere will eventually buy a copy. If they enjoyed it, they will spread the word. That first sale might just lead to it becoming a best seller. And then again, it might not! Remember, when it comes to books, yours is just one of millions competing to be bought and read.

Roll up, roll up. Read all about it!!!

2 thoughts on “The self publishing world is not the place for dreamers

  1. Reblogged this on sherriemiranda1 and commented:
    I thank Jack for all that he shares on his blog, not just about publishing, but also about the writer’s life and about life in the UK. As far as being a dreamer though, I think it depends on what your dreaming about. There is a New Age idea that “the thought is a seed that grows into our reality.” I dreamed about writing my debut novel for more than 30 years. Even after finally getting into my MFA in Creative Writing program, I realized the novel was still just a dream, as they had me working on all kinds of stuff. OK, we did get to choose most of our classes, so I made the choice to study Nonfiction (& discover I am quite good at writing it!) and Kurosawa’s Films (which I loved, esp. writing about his films – For many years, I wanted to be a movie critic.). In the end though, I was able to submit a draft as my thesis and I was far enough along with the story that I knew I would finish it one way or another.
    So, there are two types of dreamers out there, those who dream and do nothing, and those who dream and do a little bit each day until one day, they actually realize “This is REALLY going to happen!” 😉 ❤
    I will caution the dreamers though. I read hundreds of books before I started writing my own. I also wrote about a hundred papers (papers for college, reviews, essays, articles about art, books, etc.). I started commenting on others' article a few years ago which helped me learn how to be more succinct and to state my position clearly.
    But the most important thing I've done is living life fully, letting other people influence me and meeting people from all over the world from many stations in life. I learned the most from this latter experience and even if I hadn't written my novel, I wouldn't change that experience for anything in the world! 😉 ❤
    So, dreamers, keep dreaming, but don't forget to LIVE LIFE! Don't forget to READ others' books! AND Don't forget to FEEL! ❤ ❤
    Peace, love & living life fully to all,
    Sherrie
    Sherrie Miranda's historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador:
    http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

