Something for you all to think about

eb7e2d266101384f1c8d15946c5b3edb

Have you ever thought about what makes the author of any work of fiction you’ve ever read, actually tick? No, well don’t you think maybe its long past time that you did?

Without exception, when you read anything written by a fiction writer, unlike non-fiction books created by those of an intellectual bent who rely solely on facts and scientific theories, what sets our work apart from them is the way we make use of life’s experiences and our vivid imaginations.

Take my latest novella – Céleste as an example. Apart from the smattering of facts and human legends I used in the story, in one specific passage I drew on a particularly painful memory from my early childhood, while throughout the rest of the story I used other personal experiences.

One in particular immediately springs to mind, when I wrote about the relationship between Céleste and the human she loves – David. I remembered when I fell in love back in the nineteen sixties with Mai, the most beautiful and gentle soul I have ever met in my entire lifetime, who became my wife and the mother of our son. I experienced total heart break eighteeen months later when they were both cruelly taken from me by friendly fire. As a result I have suffered several breakdowns over the intervening years, which is the reason why I live alone today, too frightened to get close to anyone ever again. It may sound foolish I know, but its a very real fear to me…

So there you have it. Now go and buy your copy of Céleste to gain an even better understanding of the way my mind works.

PS – if you are still hoping to get a free copy, I’m sorry but the two day offer ended yesterday…

😉

12 thoughts on “Something for you all to think about

  1. (shaking head) Jack, your loss is sadness beyond belief! 💛 Sharing it took strength! Yep, our experiences make their way into fiction writing. It adds to the emotional believability of what our imaginations conjure up! Happy writing week! Elizabeth

    Liked by 1 person

  2. you know my friend I tried to pass over this without commenting on something so painful, but I find I can’t. You have been down a road that few of us can imagine let alone contemplate travelling. They say writing is a doorway for all sorts of release I hope you find something there even after all this time. Michael

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

