The prologue for my science fiction space opera Onet’s Tale

3ab21ec8d706050fbf871f760f76e7c4

As I promised in my blog post on Tuesday, here is the prologue from my space opera Onet’s Tale.

~~~

My name is Onet, my kind are the Khaz. We are the oldest species across the cosmos and because of our greed and ambition, we are nearly all wiped out. Unlike you, and all other sentient species, we do not live short lives or need to breed with one another. We self-replicate, a painful process that takes months for each of us to endure. We are a cerebral race, able to communicate collectively across vast interstellar distances. Many dominant species still continue to underestimate our machinations.

We were the stuff of nightmares here on Earth in the twentieth century, despite the fact that the ill-informed among your ancestors always depicted us as tiny benevolent grey visitors in your pictorial entertainments. Nothing could be further from the truth. Most of my brothers are pure evil.

This is the story of how evil grows and spreads its tentacles, corrupting the innocent. I know, for it was I who unwittingly set it in motion eons ago…

I have lived for more millennia than I care to remember. Since I came to these caves after the great holocaust nearly eight hundred years ago, when this small blue planet was quite literaly turned on its head, and all life across the cosmos changed forever, I have remained hidden from the violence of the world beyond these mountains. I am still waiting to go home, but until the being I seek finds me, I cannot return, so I content myself by writing this tale. While he will not be born for years to come, I already sense who he is. When he finally arrives, the celestial event I also await will occur and we shall return together to my home among the stars.

Unlike the rest of my kind who have turned to evil thoughts and deeds for their own ends, I do not now deliberately interfere with the lives of others. Because of him and what he might become, it is necessary for me to protect the cosmos as best I can from the meddling of my cousins, despite knowing that they will contribute to his creation. Above all, it is my duty to bring peace once more. There is a valuable lesson to be learned from this tale. No thought, deed or action is ever random.

One of your scientists summed it up best when he said, β€œFor every action there is a reaction.” The truth of that statement is contained within these pages. While I continue to wait for him, and for you to understand the tale you are about to read, you need to know something of the background leading up to the events I have witnessed over the many years of my exile here on Earth, which I will lay before you in these pages. It is not a story you would wish to tell your children at night in the comfort of your home; but in a way you are all my children, so dear reader we shall begin.

It is not necessary for you to know a great deal about the many personalities who are and were involved in the tale about to unfold. The six men from different nations throughout the cosmos, who became a band of brothers, are a different matter. They are the ones you should you be concerned with. They are the berserker warriors, Akhen, Khan, Besal, Seti, Max, and Akkad, who you will meet as the story unfolds. I shall reveal why they were irreversibly transformed as you read. In their own way they also indirectly contributed to setting in train his creation by their deeds.

~~~

So, there you have it Scifi fans. You’ve just read the prologue to my science fiction space opera Onet’s Tale written back in 2003 and published, albeit briefly in 2010. The next time, if there is one, I will give you the first part of the first chapter of part one of Onet’s Tale. All you have to say is “more please” in a comment…

πŸ˜‰

 

23 thoughts on “The prologue for my science fiction space opera Onet’s Tale

  1. Hello Jack. I have scrolled all the way back here … almost right down to the delightful Lucy. I intend to read a chapter a day or thereabouts. I have re-read this part and am mentally preparing myself for the epic journey ahead. I will let you know how I am getting on. All the very best, Jack.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

