I Think Therefore I Am Maltese

Justin on all things Maltese 😉

The Champagne Epicurean

 

The best kind of patriotism is the one that remains unspoken. I am not a patriot, because I subscribe to the Voltarean rationale of patriotism:

“It is lamentable, that to be a good patriot one must become the enemy of the rest of mankind.”

I love travel, diversity and humanity itself – cousins who are all, like myself, struggling not just to survive, but to survive with purpose, all over the world – too much to ever declare I love one country, one people, above any other. It would mean closing too many doors, embracing boredom and a lack of imagination. Besides, being born in this particular country was a sheer fluke – a highly unlikely one, in fairness; what are the odds of being born in one of the world’s smallest countries!

The great German writer WG Sebald once wrote:

“How I wished during those sleepless hours that…

View original post 2,010 more words

Leave a Reply

