Why does the book I’m reading seem familiar?

Something I said back in December 2014…

Have We Had Help?

477-197-2012-12-10967858Unusually for me, this post is a long one, (over a thousand words). So please bear with me and read it in its entirety. If you are a writer, the subject matters. Thank you.

***

When it comes to the way you write, how original are you? These days so many of the books on offer sadly lack originality. Sometimes while reading a new book, if it’s got our attention, and we’re not drifting off bored out of our minds with the book about to fall from our hands, we say to ourselves, “wait a minute, this book reminds me of something I read about X recently. In fact I’d swear its almost a carbon copy of a newspaper report I read a few months back.” This is not necessarily a bad thing. Often newspaper and magazines articles spark an idea. But using the article in its entirety might…

View original post 924 more words

Leave a Reply

