Remembering the only real holiday I’ve ever had, let alone could afford…

These days the young think nothing of flying away to exotic locations on holiday. Yet when we were their age, neither my generation nor that of my parents or grandparents certainly couldn’t even entertain the idea.

In fact I didn’t have my first proper holiday until 2002, when I was fifty-four. I spent a month in the one place I’ve always dreamt of visiting for as long as I can remember – the jewel of the Mediterranean, the Maltese archipelago.

Until that magical moment in time, the closest I ever got to having a holiday of any kind consisted of going to the beach or maybe a trip into New Zealand’s bush or its mountains and lakes for my annual two-week break. I didn’t have the money or the time for anything else.

~~~

Malta has been inhabited for at least seven thousand years. Here are a few pictures of those magical isles in the Mediterranean. Some are mine, some not:

  index24d2cd8d013c3d8a5852d427756c7cce24-ruinsmapmalta-country800px-skorba1KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAmvc-111s

Does the idea of holidaying in Malta appeal to you? If it does, don’t just stay at the resort hotel you may be booked into. Don’t just shop, or eat out, Get out among the locals, visit everything you can find from the ancient Neolithic sites to the forts, to the churches and other buildings of interest!

My one and only true holiday will always stay with me until my dying day. I’d dearly love to go there again. After all I now have the time. But the only money I have coming in these days is my meagre state pension. So the only way I’ll get back there is in my mind…

😉

14 thoughts on “Remembering the only real holiday I’ve ever had, let alone could afford…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.