With a flick of my finger

No one witnessed a youth disappearing towards the heavens, never to be seen again. The house far below that he had broken into minutes earlier looked just like any other in suburbia. Except for one tiny detail. I live in it! No one enters my tiny part of the world without my express invitation!

~~~

The older I get, the less tolerant towards the semi literate and downright uncouth I become. The same goes for anyone who places profit over his or her fellow human beings welfare; The main culprits are the corporate world, politicians, the obscenely wealthy and lesser hangers on, who all look upon the rest of us as cash cows to be bled dry. Not forgetting opportunist burglars.

If pressed, many pensioners my age and older would confess that since the turn of the millennia, the life we once knew has been replaced with what you see today, a dog eat dog world governed by the greedy.

To protect myself these days, I rarely, if ever, venture outside. Preferring the peace and quiet of my humble abode. My doors are firmly locked, and the only time you will see a window opened is during the hours of daylight in high summer. Consequently I no longer have the physical strength to go shopping, preferring instead to shop online.

There was a time back in the previous century when I used to be footloose and fancy free with not a care in the world. Then out of the blue I had a complete mental breakdown. As a consequence I live in constant fear of everything beyond my front door, which is why I live in enforced exile, hidden away from the world.

Whenever I have one of my terrifying dreams, to rid myself of it I click my left forefinger against my thumb and it melts away to nothing. That’s what I thought was happening when my house was broken into tonight. The rest you already know. It would appear that I have a weapon at my disposal. Just knowing that with a flick of my finger I can stay safe gives me pause for thought.

Pleasant dreams…

7 thoughts on “With a flick of my finger

  1. Only scum would target the elderly and steal those things with all the memories attached like the watch bought as a gift by a loved one. I hated the thought of that sitting on someone else’s wrist. I don’t even open the windows in Summer now. My brother comes most weekends and takes me shopping at 7.00 am (I’m not popular) when it’s quiet. During the week I’m like you, insular and frequently lonely. But, the big difference between us is that I can’t banish the little turds by clicking my forefinger against my thumb.
    Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.